Skip to main content

Declaration of Solidarity with the Global Climate Strikes, September 2019

Signed by the EADI Executive Committee, 9 September 2019

The Fridays for Future movement calls on people, institutions and civil society actors to join the global climate strikes on 20 and 27 September 2019. This is an urgent response to a development, which has brought the earth to the brink of collapse. The current climate emergency is not only an existential threat for future generations. It already has devastating consequences as a dire reality for millions of people. The disappearance of glaciers, the dramatic melting of the Arctic ice, burning rain forests in the Amazon region and a marked increase of human made ‘natural’ disasters as well as the rapid extermination of a variety of species in flora and fauna are among the many alarming signs of the end stage of the anthropocentric era. Far too long and at too high a price it has posed as ‘human development’ at the expense of the reproductive rights of nature.

As so often, the main victims suffering from the impact of a mainly Northern industrial lifestyle are the poor - not only but mainly in the south. Their future, as much as that of all our children, is at risk. EADI therefore supports the young people and all others in their fight for climate justice. Ultimately, this is also a fight for development justice. It is for us to recognize, respect and honor an inter-generational contract.

EADI is committed to take a stand. After all, development is about human dignity and a safe future. Thanks to the young people, this global strike is a fit occasion to throw in our weight as scholars in the field of Development Studies and show our evidence-based support. We thereby follow the example of a growing number of “Scientists for Future” in support of the young activists with declarations, facts and press conferences, with many of us joining the global demonstrations in the streets.

Henning Melber / President of EADI
Susanne von Itter / Executive Secretary of EADI

Members of the EADI Executive Committee:

Elisabetta Basile, Department of Economics and Law, Sapienza Università di Roma
Isa Baud, Amsterdam Institute for Social Science Research, University of Amsterdam
Katja Bender, International Center for Sustainable Development, Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University of Applied Sciences
Kees Biekart, International Institute of Social Studies, Erasmus University Rotterdam
Elin Bjarnegård, Department of Government, Uppsala University
Laura Camfield, School of International Development University of East Anglia
Honor Fagan, National University of Ireland Maynooth
Mikkel Funder, Danish Institute for International Studies
Sven Grimm, German Development Institute
Charlotte Guénard, Institute of Economic and Social Development Studies (IEDES), Université de Paris I Panthéon Sorbonne
Spencer Henson, Chief Editor EJDR, Institute of Development Studies
Darley Jose Kjosavik, Department of International Environment and Development Studies, Norwegian University of Life Sciences
Uma Kothari, School of Environment, Education and Development, University of Manchester
Imre Levai, Milton Friedman University, Budapest
Natalia Lorenzoni, Editorial Manager, EJDR
Paola Minoia, Faculty of Social Sciences, University of Helsinki
Nadia Molenaers, Institute of Development Policy, University of Antwerp
Stefano Moncada, Institute for European Studies, University of Malta
Alessandro Monsutti, Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies, Geneva
Antonio Sianes, Red Española de Estudios del Desarrollo (REEDES) and Departamento de Estudios Internacionales, Universidad Loyola Andalucía
Bostjan Udovic, Department of International Relations, University of Ljubljana
Jürgen Wiemann, German Development Institute

EADI Members:

Tania Berger, Acting Director, The Nordic Africa Institute, Sweden
Arnold-Bergstraesser-Institut, Freiburg, Germany
Dr. Julie Carlier, Ghent Centre for Global Studies, Ghent University, Belgium
Centre for Global Development, University College, Cork, Ireland
Department of Development Studies, University of Vienna
Professor Caroline Dyer and Professor Barbara Evans, Co-Directors, Centre for Global Development, University of Leeds
Faculty of Geo-Information Science and Earth Observation (ITC) of the University of Twente, The Netherlands
Albin Keuc, Director, Slovenian NGDO platform for development, global education and humanitarian aid (SLOGA)
Ottar Mæstad, Director, Chr. Michelsen Institute, Bergen, Norway
Prof. dr. Jan Orbie, Centre for EU Studies, Ghent University, Belgium
Sidsel Roalkvam, Director, Centre for Development and the Environment (SUM), University of Oslo
Prof. dr. Marja Spierenburg, on behalf of the Dept. of Anthropology and Development Studies, Radboud University, Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Dr. Dorien Vanden Boer, Governance in Conflict Network, Ghent University, Belgium
Vienna Institute for International Dialogue an Cooperation (VIDC)
Prof. dr. Koen Vlassenroot, Department of Conflict and Development Studies, Ghent University, Belgium
Professor Sarah C. White, President, Development Studies Association, UK